25.2 C
New York
Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Response to sanctions: Russia imposes travel ban on Biden, Blinken and Trudeau – Politics

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

In response to US sanctions over Russia’s war of aggression against Ukraine, Moscow is now imposing entry bans on US President Joe Biden and other US government officials.

The Russian Foreign Ministry released a “blacklist” of 13 names on Tuesday, including Secretary of State Antony Blinken, Defense Secretary Lloyd Austin, Biden’s national security adviser Jacob Sullivan and their spokesman Jen Psaki. Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton is also on the “exclusion list.”

Additionally, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and hundreds of Canadians are no longer allowed to enter Russia. As the Foreign Ministry announced in Moscow on Tuesday, a total of 313 Canadian government representatives and officials are now on a corresponding “blacklist.”

symbolic step

It is the first time that Russia has published a list of affected people. However, the move is more symbolic. The United States had previously personally sanctioned Russian President Vladimir Putin, his Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov, and other top government officials and aides.

[Alle aktuellen Nachrichten zum russischen Angriff auf die Ukraine bekommen Sie mit der Tagesspiegel-App live auf ihr Handy. Hier für Apple- und Android-Geräte herunterladen]

The State Department in Moscow said it was a response to unprecedented US sanctions barring senior Russian officials from entering the United States. “This move, as a countermeasure, was the inevitable consequence of the extreme course of the current US administration, which is unscrupulously attempting frontal containment of Russia in a desperate bid to maintain US hegemony,” the statement said.

You can read more about the war against Ukraine on Tagesspiegel Plus:

The ministry said it would expand the sanctions list to include “senior US officials, military officers, lawmakers, businessmen, experts and members of the media” who have acted as “Russophobes” or have contributed to inciting hatred against Russia and the imposition of of restrictive measures. . This should also protect the Russian economy.

Russia attacked Ukraine on February 24. As a result, the US, the EU and other countries issued extensive economic and financial sanctions against Russia. (dpa)

Source link

- Advertisement -

New Articles