16.3 C
New York
Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Queen and Paul Rodgers to Host Online Concert Screening in Aid of Ukraine

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Queen and Paul Rodgers will host an online screening of their 2008 concert in Ukraine to raise funds for the war-torn country.

The rock band has announced that it will share a special YouTube premiere of the former live event on March 19 at 5pm with the aim of raising donations for UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency.

Queen guitarist Brian May described the 2008 concert held in Kharkiv’s Freedom Square as a “historic moment” as they staged a free event for a live audience of over 350,000 people to help raise awareness of the AIDS.

May shared a teaser video of the concert on Instagram and wrote: “In September 2008, Queen + Paul Rodgers answered a call from Ukraine’s Elena Pinchuk ANTI-AIDS Foundation to reach out to the youth of the country with the message “Don’t let AIDS ruin your life.” Life” playing a free “Life Must Go On” AIDS awareness concert in Kharkiv’s historic Freedom Square to a live audience of over 350,000, and a television audience of over 10 million.

The band remembers that event as “an unforgettable experience… one of those rare things in life that you know you will never forget. A meeting in music, but also a meeting to fight against a common enemy…”

“Today, with millions of Ukrainian refugees in dire need of humanitarian aid of a different kind, Queen returns to her historic moment with a special YouTube screening aimed at raising donations for UNHCR’s relief efforts.

Queen + Paul Rodgers Live In Ukraine airs on YouTube on Saturday March 19 at 10am PDT, 1pm EDT and 5pm GMT.

Rodgers, who was the lead vocalist for numerous bands including Free and Bad Company, collaborated over the years with the remaining active members of Queen under the name Queen + Paul Rodgers.


Source link

- Advertisement -

New Articles