The journalist Pilar Bonet poses in a file picture in the editorial office of EL PAÍS.

Pilar Bonet, a journalist who has spent most of her career as a correspondent for the newspaper EL PAÍS in Moscow, this Wednesday won the Francisco Cerecedo Journalism Award, an award presented annually by the Association of European Journalists (APE). . In this XXXIX. th edition, the jury praised Bonet “for the rigor of his information, his ability to cover a vast area fraught with complexities, and his willingness to understand what happened to its residents as they suffered various disasters.”

Born in Ibiza in 1952, Bonet graduated in Hispanic Studies from the University of Barcelona, ​​Information Sciences from the Autonomous University of Barcelona, ​​and majored in English, German and Russian. After reviewing several local and national media outlets (Balearic Islands, Last Hour, The Newspaper of Catalonia Y Eph), joined EL PAÍS in 1982 to manage the newspaper’s new correspondent bureau in the Soviet Union. From its headquarters in Moscow, it reported on events of crucial importance in contemporary history: “the communist project, its resounding crisis, the dramatic challenge of confronting a new economic model and the emergence of a new autocratic leader, he breaks all democratization and wants to reinvent the old empire”. Bonet also highlights his active involvement in defending press freedom throughout his career, particularly in the investigation into the 2006 murder of his partner Anna Politkósvkaya.

“His work was a great help in understanding the war unleashed by Vladimir Putin in Ukraine,” the jury, chaired by journalist Fernando Ónega and 16 other members of the media community, said in a letter. Bonet currently continues to publish its articles in EL PAÍS.

The Francisco Cerecedo Prize, considered one of the most prestigious in the profession, recognizes every year those personal careers or professional works that stand out for their talent or originality. It is sponsored by BBVA, has a prize of 24,000 euros and a medal by the sculptor Julio López Hernández. Other winners of previous editions have included Javier Cercas, Anne Applebaum, Rubén Amón, Florencio Domínguez, “El Roto”, Maruja Torres and Rafael Sánchez Ferlosio. The date of the handover ceremony has yet to be determined but will be presided over by King Felipe VI, Honorary President of APE.

Source elpais.com

You May Also Like

Dismantling a criminal group dedicated to drug trafficking operating in Ourense

[ad_1] Four members of the group, which also had infrastructure in Madrid…

Denialismus und Hitzeschwindel: Weder waren es 1957 50° noch werden Wetterkarten manipuliert

[ad_1] Meteorologen sind in diesem Sommer mehr von den Belästigungen der Leugner…

Congestion on K2: Around 150 climbers reach the summit in a single day, almost half in all of history

[ad_1] With all due respect to the carvings, Everest (8,848m) is no…

Constitutional judge Alfredo Montoya resigns for health reasons

[ad_1] MADRID, July 27 (EUROPA PRESS) – The judge of the Constitutional…