10.9 C
New York
12.8 C
Washington D.C.
Saturday, January 28, 2023

Corinna + Gina-Maria Schumacher: NRW State Prize for Michael Schumacher


Corinna and Gina Maria Schumacher
NRW State Prize for Michael Schumacher

Hendrik Wüst presents Corinna (left) and Gina-Maria Schumacher with the NRW State Prize for Michael Schumacher. Jean Todt (right), former boss of the Ferrari team, is also present.

© Sven Simon / imago images

Michael Schumacher received the NRW State Prize. His wife Corinna and daughter Gina-Maria accepted the award.

Michael Schumacher, 53, received the state prize from the state of North Rhine-Westphalia on Wednesday, July 20, 2022. His wife Corinna, 53, and daughter Gina-Maria, 25, traveled to Cologne to accept the award at Motorworld. Jean Todt, 76, delivered the eulogy. The former president of the FIA ​​World Automobile Association was himself a racing driver and Michael Schumacher’s team boss at Ferrari. Prime Minister Hendrik Wüst, 47, presented the award.

Hendrik Wüst and Jean Todt pay tribute to Michael Schumacher

According to the NRW State Chancellery, the Prime Minister of North Rhine-Westphalia explained in his speech: “Michael Schumacher has shaped motorsport like no other before and after him.” Wüst continued: “Today we pay tribute above all to Michael Schumacher beyond the races and the spotlight: a person who has a big heart and for whom it was always important to think of others.”

Jean Todt made a similar statement. “With seven world titles, Michael is, along with Lewis Hamilton, the most successful racing driver in the long and glorious history of Formula 1. He is an icon of his sport,” he explained. He also praised Schumacher’s “outstanding charity streak”.

In the stable

Michael Schumacher is the 58th winner of the State Prize of the Land of North Rhine-Westphalia. The former racing driver was the victim of a serious skiing accident in December 2013. Since then, he has been in medical rehabilitation. There is no information on his condition.

The NRW State Prize is the state’s highest honour. It is awarded once a year to exceptional personalities.

Sources used: land.nrw



Source www.gala.de

Latest article